Beauty

MUA Romantic Efflorescence Palette

Hey everyone,

Recently I went on a little (ok a big) spending spree in Superdrug and bought quite a lot of new makeup items. I decided that rather than just do one really long haul post, I will do several posts each focusing on one product and give you a little review of everything I bought. Today’s post is going to be a review on MUA’s (Makeup Academy) Romantic Efflorescence eyeshadow palette.

What drew me to this particular palette was it’s name! How lovely is the name of this product? I also love the colours and the stunning plum shade (Tempt) is a personal fave. This is my fourth MUA palette, I also have Glamour Nights (this is now discontinued), Starry Night and Heaven & Earth. If you would like me to do a more in depth post on any of these palettes, let me know. If you would like to have an input into what products I review on here, I run polls on my Twitter once a week. Feel free to follow me on there too.

Romantic Efflorescence Palette

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION (from MUA website)

Perfect plums and deep metallic’s – MUA’s Romantic Efflorescence palette offers you shades that captivate. Create your own alluring look with this striking collection.

I have to admit I disagree with the colour description as there is literally only one plum shade and that is Tempt, the rest are all mostly browns and a couple of silvers with one gold, a highlight shade and one black.

PRICE

You can pick this palette up for £4 (total bargain) in store and online at Superdrug and/or on MUA’s official website if you live outside of the UK.

PACKAGING

The palette comes in a slim white plastic case with a clear lid so you can see all the colours. All shade names are labelled clearly on the back of the palette and the name of the palette itself is on the bottom right of the lid in the form of a holographic sticker. It has a snap-shut lid so you don’t have to worry about it opening randomly when it is in a makeup bag or if you’re travelling with it. It comes with a double ended sponge applicator which is also white to match the casing. I’ll be the first to admit I don’t use the sponge applicators included as I don’t like the way they apply the product (I prefer my Urban Decay shadow brush) and usually end up giving them to my niece to use with her play makeup.

EYESHADOWS

As with all standard MUA palettes this comes with 12 eyeshadows, 6 of which are matte and 6 are shimmers. Like most matte shadows from this brand, there is hardly any pigment at all. I had to really press my finger into the pan to pick up enough colour for the swatches and even then I went over each one 3 times. The shimmers/metallics however are very pigmented and look beautiful on the eyes. I use Urban Decay’s Primer Potion under all my eyeshadows so hopefully I can find a way to make the matte shades work for me.

Romantic Efflorescence Swatches

MATTE SHADES

  • Mesmeric – peachy highlight
  • Corrupt – very dark grey
  • Lavish – light brown
  • Magnet – ashy brown
  • Siren – purple/brown
  • Captivate – medium brown

SHIMMER SHADES

  • Tempt – deep plum
  • Obsessed – chocolate brown
  • Fiery – rich gold
  • Bewitch – medium brown (shimmer version of Captivate)
  • Exposed – darkish silver
  • Reveal – light silver

Overall, I really like this palette and would definitely recommend it if you like smokey eyes but prefer a softer look. If you would like me to do a post where I create an eye look using this palette, let me know in the comments. What are your favourite palettes from Makeup Academy?

Check out my other palette reviews:

BarryM Smokin’ Hot

Lauren x

Follow me on Social Media:

Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin’

9 thoughts on “MUA Romantic Efflorescence Palette

Comments are closed.